Log in

Log in

Event details

Digital Technologies: the 3 Ways of Thinking

  • 21 May 2020
  • 3:45 PM - 4:45 PM
  • Online webinar: details sent before event
  • 146


Registration is closed

The first in our Digital Technologies F-10 webinar series, this session explores fundamental concepts and introduces classroom activities and resources.

At the heart of the Digital Technologies curriculum lie 3 Ways of Thinking: Computational Thinking, Design Thinking and Systems Thinking.

How do we define and inculcate these thinking skills? Learn about activities and appropriate resources for Primary and Secondary classrooms.

Who Should Attend?

  • Primary and Secondary teachers and learning leaders, especially those new to the Digital Technologies curriculum.

About the presenters

Catherine Newington is the ICT Educator Specialist at Australian Computing Society. She leads the ACS national program to support schools to implement the Digital Technologies Curriculum. Working with schools she creates resources that target the curriculum and support content knowledge growth. Lessons promote skills such as authentic learning, global connections, critical and creative thinking, collaboration and student driven learning. These resources are available for free via the ACS ICT Educators Community of Practice.

Catherine is a registered teacher with over 12 years’ experience in the classroom including 5 years as learning and teaching leader. She holds a postgraduate degree specialising in Education Technologies. This has tightened her knowledge of how pedagogical practices influence the potential of technology in education.

Nathan Alison taught Digital Technologies, VCE Computing and Software Development in Victoria for 11 years before beginning work for DLTV. He brings a background in Computer Systems Engineering and years of hobby coding, as well as a keen desire to help teachers with more complex Computer Science concepts through clear explanations and relevant activities.

This event was made possible by support from the Victorian Department of Education and Training. 

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software